The University of Iowa

Hawkeye Athletics

A member of the Big Ten Conference since 1899, the University of Iowa fields varsity teams in 22 sports. The Hawkeyes own 26 national championships, 23 of which have been won by the wrestling team.


  • Football
  • Volleyball
  • Field hockey
  • Men’s cross country 
  • Women’s cross country 
  • Women’s soccer
  • Men’s golf 
  • Women’s golf 
  • Women’s tennis 
  • Women’s rowing


  • Wrestling
  • Men’s basketball
  • Women’s basketball
  • Women’s gymnastics
  • Women’s swimming and diving 
  • Men’s indoor track and field 
  • Women’s indoor track and field


  • Baseball
  • Softball
  • Men’s golf
  • Women’s golf
  • Men’s tennis
  • Women’s tennis
  • Men’s track and field 
  • Women’s track and field 
  • Women’s rowing

Iowa Icons

Nile Kinnick: Iowa’s lone Heisman Trophy winner led the 1939 Hawkeye football team known as “The Ironmen.” That team finished 6-1-1 and ranked 9th in the nation. Kinnick, an honors student and senior class president, was a consensus

All-American and the winner of the Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards, and the Heisman Trophy. In 1943, Kinnick died in a plane crash while on a World War II training mission. Iowa’s football stadium is named in his honor, and there’s a statue of Kinnick outside the south entrance. To this day, his face appears on every ceremonial coin used for the coin toss before Big Ten football games.

Dan Gable: An Iowa native, two-time national champion wrestler at Iowa State?and an Olympic gold medalist, Gable coached the Hawkeye wrestling team to 15 NCAA titles and 21 straight Big Ten championships from 1976–97.

Hawkeye football: Iowa has won 11 Big Ten championships and played in 29 bowl games, including a victory in the 2010 Orange Bowl. The program competes with rivals for four traveling trophies: Floyd of Rosedale (Minnesota), the Heartland Trophy (Wisconsin), the CyHawk Trophy (Iowa State), and the Heroes Trophy (Nebraska).

Hawkeye Wrestling: In a class by itself, the Iowa wrestling program has claimed 23 NCAA championships, including nine straight from 1978 to 1986 and three straight from 2008-10.

Women’s basketball: The Hawkeye women have had tremendous success over the past 30 years, winning nine Big Ten championships, two Big Ten Tournament titles, and making 21 trips to the NCAA Tournament, including a berth in the 1993 Final Four.

Softball: On the diamond, the Hawkeyes have captured four conference championships, and two Big Ten Tournament crowns. They’ve also made 16 NCAA Tournament appearances, reaching the College World Series on four occasions.